you're reading...
Uhhh...

trying to keep it simple

I tried to write a long post about Holy Week, human nature, and who knows what else. It got too complicated for me to follow my own thought processes. But the main point was intended to be simple, and it is this:

The crowd shouted, “Hosanna!” on Palm Sunday because they had certain expectations of Jesus. Then they shouted, “Crucify him!” on Good Friday because Jesus didn’t meet those expectations.

Jesus rode a donkey instead of a white horse on Palm Sunday to show that he had a different agenda than the crowd. Then he died on Good Friday to fulfill his agenda.

The crowd wanted Jesus to deliver them from Roman rule. But Jesus came to deliver us from the dominion of sin.

So many times, my own prayers sound like the hosannas of Palm Sunday. I have my expectations of God. And when he doesn’t meet those expectations, my heart turns from him the same way that the crowd did. But God has plans for me that are so much better than mine. He goes ahead with those plans even when my heart betrays him, just as he did on Good Friday.

My job is not to dictate my wishes to God, he is not a genie. My job is to receive what he has for me.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “trying to keep it simple

  1. Amen! I’ve learned the hard way a few times that I need to have less expectations for how things “need to be” and more submission to the leading of the Holy Spirit into how God wants it to be. It’s all about learning to align myself with God’s Will (rather than my own) and trusting Him in His leading. Thank you for the post!

    Posted by annabachinsky | 03/29/2013, 11:24 am

Leave a Reply

